The Indian Wells Masters

The BNP Paribans Open or Indian Wells Masters is an annual event. The post The Indian Wells Masters appeared first on

Indian Wells Masters is a tennis tournament that is organized every year in the United States. Organizers organize it in a town named Indian Wells of California. The official name of the tournament is BNP Paribas Open and BNP means Banque Nationale de Paris. The owner is a famous tennis enthusiast and founder of Oracle Corporation, Larry Ellison of the United States. The current champion of the singles tournament is Dominic Thiem(men’s) and Bianca Andreescu(women’s category). The Indian Wells Masters History And Records Of Indian Wells Masters The founder of the tournament were tennis champions, Raymond Moore and Charlie Pasarell. The organizers organized it for the first time in the year 1974. And after that, people gave numerous to both men and women’s tournaments. People initially called it The American Airlines Tennis Games for men and The Virginia Slims of Indian wells for women. Apart from that, some names were like the Congoleum Classic(around the 1980s) and the Newsweek Championship Cup(1988 to 1999), for men’s tournament. Moreover, for women, the names were the Evert Cup( 1994 & 1999) and the Pacific Life Open(2002 to 2008). While in 2009, Larry Ellison bought both the tournament and Indian Wells tennis garden. The first player to win the tournament was John Newcombe of Australia. And in women’s category, the first champion was Manuela Maleeva of Bulgaria. Roger Federer of Switzerland and Novak Djokovic of Serbia holds the record of most tournament wins as both of them have won 5 times each. Indian Wells Tennis Garden The tennis garden is in Indian Wells near Palm Springs. This facility hosts the BNP Paribas Open annually in March. It holds the second position in the list of largest outdoor tennis stadiums and its capacity is of 16000 people. It was built in the year 2000 with a massive expense of $77 million. Apart from the main event of the BNP Paribas Open, organizers hold many small and private events here. The current owner Larry Ellison regularly keeps on adding new features to the facility. The main features are 52 tennis courts of average and world-class level. The association has reserved an area of 52 acres for parking while a press room with a capacity of more than 100 is also present. Apart from tennis tournaments, organizers keep numerous concerts like that of Tom Petty and The Eagles. The Indian Wells Masters Why Is It called Indian Wells? This is a small and lovely town in the deserts of California. The Native Americans of the area built an oasis to survive the harsh dry conditions of the city. Therefore, the well supported the lives of the Indian population by giving fresh water. That’s how the name Indian Wells came into origin. The town came into limelight after the discovery of gold mines. Moreover,  date palms also played a role in the prosperity of it. Conclusion The BNP Paribas Open or Indian Wells Masters is an annual event. Previously it was one of the secondary tournaments of the Grand Prix. But later on in the year 1987, the competition got its place in the Grand Prix Super Series. Players play all four categories, namely men’s and women’s single as well as doubles, in the tournament. It has a history of 45 glorious years in the name of tennis. The post The Indian Wells Masters appeared first on